Being vegan sure has its many restrictions, like not eating any animal products whatsoever, but does that mean that if you are vegan you have to completely give up on alcohol as well? This question has been contemplating many minds of those who follow the vegan lifestyle but would still like to chuck one down every now and then. It is easy to find vegan alcohol, but you need to be careful as many alcoholic drinks use animal ingredients.
Examples of animal products that are used in the production of alcoholic drinks are: gelatine (from animal bones), casein (derived from milk), chitin (from crab shells), isinglass (obtained from fish bladders), and egg whites. Sadly these ingredients are never listen on the labels. This clearly makes the majority of alcohol not suitable for vegans and often even vegetarians. Fortunately, nearly every strong liquor such as whiskey, vodka, gin and rum are vegan apart from the cream-based liquors which contain dairy products. Who knew that animal products would be everywhere, even in alcohol!
Vegan alcoholic drinks
This however shouldn’t mean depriving yourself completely of a treat every once in a while as with this growing vegan society there are plenty of vegan options out there. This book The Tipsy Vegan (http://www.amazon.com/Tipsy-Vegan-Boozy-Recipes-Every/) brings together everyone’s two favourite hangouts: the kitchen and the bar, so with this having a house party won’t be a problem for you vegans.The most popular alcoholic drink has to be the good old beer, but I’m afraid that vegans can’t actually drink commercial beer. Yes of course, the taste of a Mexican Corona is irreplaceable, but even vegans have their fair share on this due to the vast options out there. So, this comes to the questions of what alcohol actually is vegan? Well, here is a list of vegan alcoholic drinks:
- Bacardi Rum
- Grey Goose
- Hangar 1
- Malibu Rum
- Skyy Vodka
- Budweiser (except their horrifying Clamato variety)
- Coors and Coors Light
- Miller Lite, High-Life, & Genuine Draft
- Pabst Blue Ribbon
- Sierra Nevada Pale Ale
- Charles Shaw (red wines only)
- Frey Vineyards
- The Vegan Vine
- Red Truck Wines
- Yellowtail (red wines only; not white or rosé)
- To find out on what alcohol is vegan check out this website http://www.barnivore.com/. This is an excellent website that has grouped vegan alcohol so any queries on this give them a shout.